About the Department

The department was established in 1962 when politics was offered at the General Level

Specialization for SYBA was started in 1981-82

Specialization for TYBA was started in 1982-83

Prof Ramesh Nande and Prof Jayant Gohad were two main pillars of the department

Courses conducted by the department

  • B. A. Political Science (3 years Undergraduate course affiliated to the Savitribai Phule Pune University)

  • Subjects

    9 Papers are taught at the UG level
    3 - Papers at the General level

  • FYBA-G1- An Introduction to Indian Constitution
  • SYBA - G2 - An Introduction to Political Ideologies
  • TYBA -G3 - Modern Political Analysis

    4 - Papers of Specialization SYBA -

  • S1 - Western Political Thought
  • S2 - Political Journalism


  • S3 - Public Administration
  • S4 - International Relations

    2 Papers of Skill Enhancement

  • SYBA - SEC – Basics of Indian Constitution
  • TYBA - SEC – Samyukta Maharashtra Movement

  • Department Highlights

  • Faculty with exposure of Civil Service Mains exams
  • Strength wise one of the largest departments
  • Cosmopolitan composition-Along with International students, we have students from the North- East and from different regions of India and the State
  • Rising demand for specialization in Politics
  • Growing career opportunities in electronic and print media
  • Subject facilitates students to take up interdisciplinary studies
  • Importance of the subject in all Competitive and Entrance Exams
  • Mobile and multimedia apps are used to share links of important websites, books, notes

  • Head of department

    Madhale Anil

    Head of department

    Mr. Madhale Anil

    MA, NET

    Designation: Assistant Professor

    Sr. No.Name of FacultyDesignationProfile link
    1Mr. Madhale A. K.Assistant Professorclick here
    2Mr. Sanap S. N.Assistant Professorclick here

    Events and Activities

    The Department every year arranges events and activities for their overall growth. These events include seminars, workshops, career guidance and other activities.

  • Guest Lecture of Dr. Dhananjay Yedekar, Former Vice- Chancellor, SRTMU Nanded & Chairman of MPSC (Maharashtra Public Service Commission)
  • Constitution Day on 26th November
  • One Week Lecture Series on Competitive Exams
  • Participation in 14 Hour Continuous Study Programme in honour of Dr. Ambedkar (Dr. Ambedkar Jayanti Mahotsav)

  • Annual Event


    Details of different research papers published by different faculties of department on national, international and state level are as follows

    Name of FacultyInternational LevelNational LevelState Level
    Mr. Anil Madhale257
    Mr. Sachin Sanap-12

    Departmental Prize

    The Department has instituted the Prin. Shamsundar Mudgal Prize.

    It is an annual prize awarded to a student standing first in T.Y.B.A. with Political Science as a special subject.

    Annual YearName of Topper
    2010-11Ms. Arora Tarana
    2011-12Mr. Pathan Mujahid
    2012-13Mr. Chandanshive Motilal
    2013-14Ms. Khopade Apurva
    2014-15Ms. Nath Shraddha
    2015-16Ms. Lokhande Sayali
    2016-17Ms. Khan Ahana
    Illustrious Alumni

  • Dr. Rajesh Kharat- Professor at Delhi University
  • (Retd.) Col. Ajay Dabholkar- Secretary, The Club Mahableshwar
  • Ms. Tarita Wakalkar- Founder Indira Institutes
  • Mr. Avinash Salve- Corporator, PMC
  • Late Mr. Navnath Kamble – Deputy Mayor, PMC